Child Development By Age

Amanda Gummer, our CEO, and a leading child psychologist, has put together a guide to help parents understand the typical development milestones for a child by age broken down into the following sections (based broadly on the EYFS prime and specific areas of development):

  • Cognitive development (including mathematics)
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical and motor skill development
  • Speech, language and communication skills (including literacy, and communication and language)
  • Creativity (including expressive arts & design)
  • Understanding the world

Of course, every child is different, however we hope this will help you to better understand the next skills your child is acquiring and so support your child through this development. We have included toys, apps and play ideas.

Babies & toddlers:

Pre-Schoolers & Reception:

Key Stage 1:

Key Stage 2:


Recently Added